Want to be happier?

bod.

My friend, Krislyn, told me about Gretchen Rubin’s Happier podcast. She assured me that it was because she thought I would like it, not because I was unhappy. Her intention truly was to introduce me to something that I would love, but deep down I know that I am not always a happy person. Fighting OCD (my brain) and general anxiety is taxing on my happy meter.

On the surface, I know that I should be happy, and I have no reason to be unhappy. I have a lot of great people and things in my life. I am a hard worker who has accomplished a lot of awesome things. Trust me when you open your heart to people about feeling stressed, depressed, and unhappy, they are quick to remind you of all the good things you have in your life (even though that is not the point or the problem).

Anyway, it is easy to get caught up in daily life and forget to take care of ourselves. It is easy to feel like you aren’t doing enough, saying enough, being there for someone enough. It is easy to get down on ourselves because we aren’t this, or too much of this, or not enough that.

I was watching my new obsession, Lipstick Jungle, on Netflix, and one of the characters said this when comforting her friend.

“He should love you for those qualities, not in spite of those qualities.” This really spoke to me. I often feel that way about myself. I try to love myself in spite of some qualities not because of them. Gretchen’s podcast encourages self love which is important to overall happiness.

The podcast begins with a tip for leading a happier life (something easy like setting your alarm clock for bed times), then continues with a little self understanding (are you a marathoner or a sprinter?), the moves to small things that bring happiness, and concludes with the happiness demerit and gold start of the week.

Gretchen and her sister, Elizabeth, are open and honest about their struggles (and successes) which is very refreshing (and comforting). They stress the importance of knowing oneself in order to achieve happiness. I learned that since I am an abstainer, I am all or nothing in resisting temptation. So, I can’t eat a bite without devouring the entire cake. I have to have nothing…or I can’t resist. My husband, however, is a moderator. He can have a bite of cake and stop. Knowing that is very useful (and it makes me resent Cory a little less 🙂

I love this podcast so much that I caught up the current episode. Thanks, Krislyn!

Check the podcast out at http://gretchenrubin.com/podcast/.

Leave a Reply

