Journaling – my happy place

Standard

bod.

My husband got me a beautiful cream and orange owl journal for Christmas. I have a lot of journals, and I love each and every one of them. Tons of pages ready for me to write. The new one is my travel companion, so I can write when inspiration strikes (which is usually at lunch time and bedtime).

As a teenager, I journaled every night while listening to sappy, love songs (yes, I was a loser). I spent hours pouring my heart (poems, short stories, and thoughts) into the pages of spiral-bound notebooks. It was my quiet time to get all the complicated (and mostly annoying) stuff out of my brain.

Then somehow (despite my awkwardness), I started dating my now husband (which isn’t that strange because he is weird and awkward too), and I slowly stopped journaling. It was not a conscience decision. I was just busy and happy. I was going to movies and out to dinner instead of being so in my head.

Although I am still busy and happy, over the last few years, I have missed that time – the time to reflect and pour out my crazy thoughts (with no judgement because luckily, journals don’t judge). I have been careful not to force it though because then it becomes a chore, and I don’t want another one of those (#adultproblems).

My new journal is already filled with random and reassuring thoughts, my New Year resolutions (one of which is to blog more – check), song lyrics, quotes, and drawings of Ellie the Elephant, Fat Cat the Cat, and Mousey, the messed-up mouse (created from my mind).

The beauty of journaling is that you can reflect on your thoughts or never look at them again. You can write it down and get it out of your brain. Save your brain the trouble of housing all that junk. Journaling takes those abstract and winding thoughts and puts them in a more concrete (and less scary) form. If it is worth a rethink, you can back to it. If it is not, you can pretend it never existed.

If you don’t feel called to journal (which is totally ok), consider keeping a mental thankfulness log. It is a great lesson in humility, love, and humbleness. It can really change your mindset and remind you to think positively every day (yes, even those ugly days when you want to stay in bed with the covers over your head). We have so many things to be thankful for in life.

Thank you for reading, and I have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

